I’m Back!

Well in exactly a week and a half I’ll be enjoying the snow back in Westlake! Despite the incessant requests from my mom and Clare (ok I’m sure my mom told her to…. haha) for more blog posts, between a family visit (!) and studying for finals, I haven’t really had the time or energy to write about my trip to Rome or my random musings on Ireland and being abroad. However, after crazily studying (probably too much, but what else is new?) for my four finals last week, I’m finding myself with a bit more free time. And what is a better use of that time than shopping in Eyre Square, sleeping in a bit, and blogging – of course!

I’m in the computer suite on campus right now, smiling to myself because I only have one more exam that won’t require much studying, so I don’t have access to many of my pictures. I’ll leave you with a few from my family’s visit (these are the less embarrassing ones, if you can even imagine that!) and a link to my Study Abroad Update for the Purdue BME department.

The family Christmas card, it was raining (imagine that...) so we were a bit wet, but still look lovely πŸ™‚

If you can’t tell (haha), we are in the Quad on campus and received more than several funny looks for taking 20 pictures and making fun of my dad, the photographer, after each one (some things never change!). I was so happy my family came, we had a lot of fun and laughed a lot – but of course the weather didn’t feel like cooperating the few days they were in Galway. On my birthday (which was also Thanksgiving) we all went on the Cliffs of Moher tour with the Galway Tour Company. I was o so thrilled when I found out we had the same bus driver as when I had gone, because I didn’t get enough of his 75 year-old Irish humor the first time around. My sister may kill me for posting this, but I think it is funny and equally embarrassing for me so I’m going to go ahead and do it…haha.

Super wet Wittenbergs at the Cliffs of Moher

I’m actually surprised we survived the gale force winds….but more on that later!
I’m off to the gym now and hopefully will be working on new posts the next few days! I’m looking forward to seeing my family for Christmas and going on more ridiculous family trips (the Purdue Bowl Game!!!), but a little sad about leaving Galway.

About ewittenberg

Senior biomedical engineering student at Purdue University studying abroad this semester at the National University of Ireland -- Galway.
This entry was posted in Ireland, NUI Galway, Study Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m Back!

  1. She She says:

    Can’t wait to see you over the holidays. Enjoy your few days of freedon and safe travels. xoxoxo

  2. Mom says:

    I appreciate your discretion on photo choice….! Love you…..

  3. Clare says:

    You bet I’m mad about that picture, I look ridiculous! I think Mom would have liked the other photo better, she was looking really pretty in that one…haha

    • ewittenberg says:

      Don’t worry I’m saving the other one as blackmail…I’m sure it’ll come in handy some day! Can’t wait to see you in a week (and a day…), hope finals are going well!

  4. Mom says:

    Nonsense….you look beautiful as always…!

  5. Desmond says:

    Ellen, the third time is a charm! Before you return to the states, you have time for one more bus tour with Desmond. Ask for me, I will make sure you get a discount. Hope you still have my phone number πŸ™‚

  6. Grandma says:

    Hi Ellen,

    You all looked like you were having a really good time. Can’t wait to see you.
    Wishing you a safe trip home. God bless.

    Love,
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

