Mind the Gap

My first international trip of the semester is booked! A group of international students is off to London the weekend of October 7. I’m glad that my first adventure outside of Ireland is to another English-speaking country – don’t think I’m ready to handle a language barrier while traveling yet.

Last night we booked flights out of Dublin (only 102 Euro through RyanAir!) and a hostel which is within walking distance of Westminster Abbey and Buckingham Palace. Covering London on Saturday and Sunday morning will be a challenge, I’m sure we could explore for a whole week!

When I was planning on coming to Ireland, my mom gave me an entire book on Irish Hotspots and boy has that been helpful. It even has nifty fun-facts and historical tidbits for all the cities and major sites in Ireland, which I love!  However, the plan of attack for London will be a bit more complicated than Irish day trips: “get on bus, see old castle, see awesome natural phenomena, see green fields, get off bus.” Or even Dublin, which I explored while carbo-loading for, running in, and recovery from (hello Guinness Brewhouse!) my first half-marathon.

So I’m starting to compile my “Must See” list for London this week…obviously spontaneity isn’t really my style! Any suggestions or recommendations on where I have to visit before leaving London?

About ewittenberg

Senior biomedical engineering student at Purdue University studying abroad this semester at the National University of Ireland -- Galway.
This entry was posted in London, Study Abroad, Weekend Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mind the Gap

  1. Clare says:

    I feel like I start every post merely reiterating my jealousy…and don’t think this one is going to be any different. While I’m sitting in Oxford, Ohio dreaming about jellies, jams and preserves, you’re going to be out gallivanting all around London!

    OK as to your plea for sight seeing destinations: of course Big Ben, Buckingham Palace…the highlights. In true Wittenberg fashion though, a trip away from home wouldn’t be complete without a stop at a museum! I was looking the “greats” and I decided on the National Gallery. It houses one of the greatest art collections in the world and currently has an exhibit with the most complete display of his paintings–ever!!

    • ewittenberg says:

      Thanks for the comments and suggestions — and congrats again on landing the internship! I’m really pumped for London, but sad I won’t be there very long (not even 48hours!). Whose paintings are displayed in the National Gallery, you didn’t finish that thought…

      Love you … take more pictures I want to see your exciting Miami life!

  2. She She says:

    Must take double decker bus ride around city. You can hop on/hop off at all the major attractions. You also get a river cruise ticket with your purchase. The Tower of London is also really amazing especially if you have read or plan to read any books about King Henry VIII but this if fairly time intensive. One of my very favorite tours (but it takes a fair bit of time too) was of the Cabinet War Rooms (Churchills bunker headquarters during WWII). If its a rainy day that would be a good place to spend a bit of time. HAVE FUN!!!!

  3. Mom says:

    Well, you have to go to Harrod’s ….that’s where I bought the lovely sweater you look so cute in!

  4. Mom says:

    Oh, and Big Ben and the London Eye ….they’re on the poster!

Leave a Reply

